thatgrrrl's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

a pointless entry after all

Day off work today because I had a doctor's appt in the morning (annual poke-n-prod, fasting, bloodwork, everything is fine) and D had an appt at 2:15 this morning, which we aborted after sitting in the waiting room for over an HOUR without even a HINT that it might be soon that he'd see the doctor. This was for the ringing in his ears, it was an ENT clinic. We've each been there before, and it's always like that. We left at 3:30 telling the receptionist that we were leaving and why and that we would not be coming back. She apologized, but it was a formality. She didn't really care all that much.

Between the two, I went to the bookstore and released 4 paperbacks and only adopted 2, so I had a net release, which is always an accomplishment for me. I think they've gotten more romance books and less of the stuff I like, so that's good for keeping me from getting too many when I go in there.

*grasshopper*

We were going to have cube steak for dinner, but it didn't get all the way thawed, so I picked up Chinese instead, and this is what my fortune cookie slip said: Stop searching forever, happiness is just next to you. I figure it was either referring to D sitting next to me at the table, or the half-eaten eggroll on the other side. The eggroll was very delicious. It made me happy to eat it.

Because to think it was referring to D, as being my source of happiness..... not so sure about that. And to stop searching? I think I've already stopped, pretty much. At least I'm on a hiatus from searching for a while. If it's going to come, it's going to come, and me looking isn't going to make it come any sooner.

*grasshopper*

When I was at my doctor's appt, she was talking to me about how often I needed to have a pap smear, and how I could decrease it to every other year if I wanted to. She asked if I was married, and then made a statement of 'and monogamous' as if it were assumed that I was monogamous because I'm married, and I made a non-committal noise that, to me, sounded like, welllllll.... kindamaybe.

I mean, come on. Define monogamous. From answers.com via Google: 1. The practice or condition of having a single sexual partner during a period of time. 2. The practice or condition of being married to only one person at a time. 3. The practice of marrying only once in a lifetime. 4. A form of marriage in which one man is united with one woman.

1. That's kind of silly, because it doesn't say how long the period of time is. A minute? A decade? An eon? But ok, given that it's a month or 5 months or 6 months, I think I qualify for this one.

2. Yes. I'm only married to one person at a time.

3. No, I've been married twice, once in college, for 5 years, and then D, since 1989.

4. Yes. That's the form of marriage I have with D.

So, without going into ANY detail at all with the doctor, I guess I answered mostly truthfully. I let her believe what she already believed.

And it's not like I'm sleeping around either. I sleep with cats, and that's pretty much it.

No, I don't know what my point is. Do you? I'm not even sure that I have one.

6:11 p.m. - 2005-02-10

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

memmunch
kungfukitten
stepfordtart
mare-ingenii
la-the-sage
kristintracy
erianne1
marn