thatgrrrl's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Vday and FP

Valentines Day is coming up. After receiving from C a bouquet of roses in a long box on our first date, and then an arrangement of roses delivered at work on my birthday, I'm positive she's going to want to send me flowers for Valentines Day.

I like (don't mind?) getting flowers, but it's hard to explain them to people at work when they don't come from D. Since I'm not out to them there, mostly. Even if they were from another man, that would be hard to explain. And D has never sent me flowers on "occasions" but only for no reason at all, which is MUCH more impressive.

Anyway, when I tell her that I don't want her to send me flowers for VDay, her immediate reaction is going to be a nice big fat POUT. Complete with stuck-out bottom lip. Which I think is VERY unattractive, and she thinks is cute. Because she's only 3. (sigh) I turn my head away when she pouts. Eventually she'll learn that doesn't work with me.

So, then after the pout, she'll ask me why not? Well, here's my list.

1. Because I'm uncomfortable getting huge lavish displays of affection at work.

2. I don't want her to spend that much money on me

3. She's going to need that money to pay the ticket she thinks she might get from going through the red traffic light behind that big truck the other night

4. I'd rather have candy or a nice dinner out or a warm snuggly sweater (or reading gloves) or a book than something that's going to die in a week or less

5. Flowers are a cliche, and I'm anything BUT a cliche kind of girl.

I think I'm going to copy and paste my list into an email to her. No, that's probably not such a good idea. Maybe just print it out so I can talk to her about it and have it for reference when I talk to her tonight. She told me a few days ago that she's already got my VDay card picked out. No pressure there on me, no way. /eyeroll (that's from akkelly if you were wondering)

Anyway.... another busy day at work today: setting up security for FP groups with Harold, doing/going to the training sessions for FP, just generally immersing myself in the world of FP. All this week in fact. That's ok, it's SUCH a huge improvement over the torture that we've been going through the last 8 months. My users will be SOOOO happy after this upgrade. Especially Ms Sumner. Since she won't be breaking it all the time. ;)

6:31 a.m. - 2002-02-06

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

memmunch
kungfukitten
stepfordtart
mare-ingenii
la-the-sage
kristintracy
erianne1
marn