thatgrrrl's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

my bosslady totally rocks!

This morning, after my decision of last night, I get a request from MarketingGirl (who, btw, is on vacation) for a list of addresses for the company journal mailing, wherein she says, "I know you're not supporting the sales database right now, but I need this anyway. It needs to be sent to the Swiss today." And she just emailed me about it, last night.

Ummm. Hello? Earth to MarketingGirl? Does the word "planning ahead" mean anything to you? No, I didn't think so. That's pretty typical of a marketing person, for whatever reason, everything is at the last minute with them. Do you think she knew about it before she went on vacation? Perhaps. Probably. Like, did they do the same exact mailing 3 months ago, and maybe she could have anticipated doing it again, right about now, give or take a couple weeks? But no.

So, in response to her email, I said this: "As you know, I'm not able to support the sales database at this time. I'm forwarding your email to BossLady."

BossLady's response:

From: BossLady

Sent: Wednesday, May 26, 2004 8:49 AM

To: VPSales; MarketingGirl

Cc: President; ThatGrrrl

Subject: RE: Addresses for CompanyJournal

To all,

ThatGrrrl�s primary function is to support Accounting and Service software. I have always said that, from the early days. I think ThatGrrrl has done an admirable job of supporting all databases and users, but capacity has been exceeded in the last month. With the new reporting system, she has been working more than full time just on the issues with the sales reporting and flat file due to Switzerland each week starting in May. We are already 1.5 weeks late on this project. From there we go full speed into the full reporting by product and then to SAP rollout in July. There is just no time available to support Sales software and I have to prioritize the reporting issues.

I believe you really need someone in the Sales/Marketing team to provide support on a half time basis. DA and Minion can support the network portions of the product, but the database needs to be supported elsewhere. ThatGrrrl will be fulltime SAP by the end of the year. I wish I could help, but we are really struggling with the new reporting. ThatGrrrl says that there are at least 3 strong Power Users. She will probably have a �little� time in mid June before we start the SAP project, and I would suggest that we identify and train a person in house at that time, because starting in July, it will be full speed SAP.

BossLady


I asked her later if she'd gotten any response from anyone. Her reply: "Dead silence. Apparently I made it clear enough."

Heh. BossLady rocks.

Not only that, but when she went on her emergency vacation last week, she bought me a pack of goddess stickers, of the goddess Kali.

And tonight we're scheduled to get some bitchin' thunderstorms here. Woo-hoo! Vacation begins. :)

8:30 p.m. - 2004-05-26

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

memmunch
kungfukitten
stepfordtart
mare-ingenii
la-the-sage
kristintracy
erianne1
marn