thatgrrrl's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

obligatory j'con '05 entry :)

Hello from Phoenix AZ! Yeah, I know, what the hell am I doing in Phoenix? Wasn't I in San Diego at Journalcon 2005? Well, actually yes, till about 11 this morning, but then, due to some tight schedules on my return flight and various fuckups by the airline, I missed my connection here in Phoenix and hence am staying overnight (paid for by the airline of course) and flying home tomorrow morning.

So, JournalCon 2005 totally rocked, and I am WORN OUT. As expected. The best part of it? I made a couple new friends (Ian, Mo's boyfriend, and the girl from Australia whose name escapes me at this moment) and really FELT like I was part of the group this time, not like an outsider like I did to an extent in Austin 2 years ago. I was much more comfortable just sitting down with people and chatting, and got hugs from weetabix and trancejen right off the bat, which was way good.

Also, at Karaoke last night, I proposed to Mare, because she was SO hot dancing, and told Mo and Weet that they really should get married, because they're so obviously good together. Needless to say, that was after several beers. And shots of peppermint schnapps. I was a little (a LOT) toasted last night.

Last night, I went to a Brazilian restaurant with Amanda (that's the australian girl mentioned above), -b, Chris and Beth. That's the kind of restaurant where they bring you meat on a sword continuously until you either tell them to stop or you explode. Awesome food. All you can eat meat. expensive as hell, but definitely worth it.

After dinner, karaoke and drinking. Fun times. When that was over, I staggered up to my room and do not even remember lying down, I went to sleep that fast. Was still a little staggery this morning, but now I'm mostly ok. Probably fairly dehydrated though.

Panels were good and fun and interesting, and sitting around talking with people in the hospitality room was good too. Lots of good swag, including Tim-tams from Australia, and a red clown nose and a tiny rubber chicken. I have a whole bag of swag in my suitcase, but I'm down in the "Business Center" of the hotel right now so can't go into any more detail than that.

I'm SO glad I took tomorrow off work though, I won't get home till almost 4pm, but at least I'll have had a good night's sleep here in Phoenix rather than staying up all night at the DFW airport to get home tomorrow morning about 10. That was my other option. Um, that would be a NO.

I behaved myself completely, well, except for proposing to Mare. There was a backrub chain going on for a while last night with Science Girl and a couple other people part of it, who used to be a massage therapist. That was AWESOME!!!!

That's about all I can think of right now, but I'm sure that as I read other people's entries, more will come to me, so keep checking back. :)

3:46 p.m. - 2005-10-23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

memmunch
kungfukitten
stepfordtart
mare-ingenii
la-the-sage
kristintracy
erianne1
marn