thatgrrrl's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

work stuff

A dream I had last night:

I was at work, of course, because that's about the only place I go other than home these days. My boss told me that they had hired a VP Finance, and that the salary for that person was "quite good" according to my boss.

I lost it. I said, furious, why is it that people who get hired now get all this money, and those of us who have been here for a while get NOTHING? Ask anyone who's been here more than three years and you'll hear the same thing. We get less than COLA raises, we get no bonuses, and yet the new people get these fat signing bonuses and huge salaries.

I went to talk to one of the other managers about it, and I wanted to talk to him in private, but people kept coming in to his office.

And I discovered that the VP Operations had moved back to a smaller office so this VP Finance could have the biggest office.

It was kind of a depressing dream, because while it's not exactly true, it's indicative of the way things are at Workplace. Once you've been there for 3 years, you're pretty much stuck. There are a few rare exceptions, my Alcolyte being one of them, who escaped after almost 6 years.

We have little to no leadership, and we are managed by committee, a committee of weak managers, who don't do the things that need to be done, and just kind of hope the problems will go away. My boss focuses on details, not on big picture stuff.

Maybe that will change after our Controller comes back from medical leave, and the contract ass't controller starts.

I have my doubts though.

6:03 a.m. - 2006-09-02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

memmunch
kungfukitten
stepfordtart
mare-ingenii
la-the-sage
kristintracy
erianne1
marn