thatgrrrl's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Deck and JournalCon and Fall

Deck photos here at http://photos.yahoo.com/pixels_mom. Updated yesterday after I left work (early) and did some (unsuccessful) shopping for deck furniture at Walmart, Home Depot and Lowes, and then came home while Tommy was still here, so there's a picture of The Master Builder too. He's awesome!!! He even made newel posts for the top of the steps so D could find them and not walk off the side of the deck (no railing yet) into either the hydrangea bush or the garbage can. And everything is SO solid. 4 6x6 wooden posts hold up the deck, where before there were 3 or 4 metal cylinders, about 2 inches across, which, he found when he took them out of the ground, were rusting away from the bottom up. Ick!!!

Today, we're going to go to Recreational Factory Warehouse where they have deck furniture, AND it's on sale. It'll be a road trip, because it'll take us about an hour to get there probably.

Ooh! This is cool. Last night, after we got our hair cuts, and had dinner, we went to Lowes to order a door for the downstairs door. We knew exactly what door we wanted, because we have one on the upstairs door. So we went to the door, and I looked around for a person to take our order. Didn't see anyone. It wasn't busy at all. This was on a Friday about 6pm. So I found the button that says "Need help? Press here" and I pressed here, and walked back to where D was waiting at the door. We waited, and heard the automatic page. "Bing! Special Assistance is needed at Steel Doors. Bing!" Once. Twice, Three times. Four times. Sheesh. FIVE times. Still waiting. Six and Seven times, and then it started paging for Masonry Special Assistance. So, we wrote down the numbers and info about the door, and went up to Customer Service. Where there was one employee, helping one customer, and two more customers waiting, and another employee waiting too.

At that point, my patience was just about gone. And my feet hurt. And I had a headache. So we left and came home to our very cool deck. Watched Jeopardy. D called the store while I was looking online (where it was not available to buy) and talked to the manager who was apologetic, but didn't have a good explanation or solution. So, D called another store in a different town, and they had the door we want, but also wanted to charge us $55 (for an $83 door) to deliver it!!!! I don't THINK so. So D called the store we went to back, and talked to the manager again, and said, ok, you can make this all better and make me a happy customer if you sell me the door and deliver it for FREE. Because I don't want to come down there again. And, the power of the consumer being what it is, D got what he wanted. Woo-hoo!!! Should be delivered on Sunday or Monday, for FREE. Free is good. We like free stuff. :)


I had a session with Ricki on Thursday, wherein we talked about my need for excitement, and my weekend with C at Pride, and seeing one of the ex-girls in group there with her new baby (adopted with her partner), and feeling bad for R in group this past Monday who FINALLY opened up at the VERY end of group and just as she was getting started, it was time to stop. :( I'm going to try very hard to get her to pick up where she left off next time, at the beginning of group.


Several of the people who write the diaries that I read are at JournalCon this weekend, weetabix, BitterHag, Bev@FunnyTheWorld (who I read on occasion). It seems like there were more than that, because I kept reading about JournalCon, but maybe it was just Weet obsessing about it in several entries. ;)

I was considering going to that, but then I decided to go to Camp in RI instead, and I'm glad I did, because it was a smaller, much more intimate gathering in RI, and I didn't feel the self-imposed pressure to go and do much of ANYthing, which I would have if I'd gone to SF. Plus I knew people at Camp from another Camp in Houston, we'd actually met ftf before, where I wouldn't have known ANYone at JournalCon.


Fall is here. At least, things are falling out of the trees. Acorns mostly. We drove up into the driveway last night and it was like driving over marbles. Very strange. And of course our anal retentive neighbor goes out whenever he has the chance with his back-pack-mounted-gas-powered-very-loud blower, and blows them away, to I don't know where, but they're not on his pristine driveway, by god!! And yesterday afternoon, he was up on the ROOF with his blower. I have no idea why. He probably has a small penis. ;) heh. I'm so bad.

7:56 a.m. - 2002-10-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

memmunch
kungfukitten
stepfordtart
mare-ingenii
la-the-sage
kristintracy
erianne1
marn