thatgrrrl's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

birthday stuff and cat stuff

I'm hoping that typing will warm up my hands, because they are FREEZING!!! It's 36 degrees outside, and feels like about 65 inside. I have on sweats and my fuzzy shirt and socks (as well as a tshirt and the normal undergarments). I need something warm INside me.

So, the birthday extravaganza was very nice. My friend at work, JG, got me The Wizard of Oz, and baked me a cake, which D and I polished off tonight. Yummy. There were balloons and a nice card, and happy birthday from my Alcolyte as well. Many people wished me happy birthday as they were getting a piece of my cake, so that was nice.

When I got home, I opened the two presents from my mom (Books 6 and 7 of the Dark Tower series, per my blatant request), and presents from D (two sweaters and yummy soap from Kiss My Face). His mom called and said my present was on the way and happy birthday, and my mom called to say happy birthday. D and I went out to dinner to our favorite mexican restaurant, which, while it wasn't special, was a good choice (my choice, therefore good).

This isn't working, my hands are still cold. But they look good! Because after we had dinner, and after Jeopardy, I went to the mall to exchange the 2 sweaters. He bought me XL, and they were too big, which was ok. I'd rather have XL be too big, than L be too small. One is a cardigan, kind of a gray/multicolor tweedy looking thing, which I wore today. The other one he got was a white mockturtleneck, dryclean only, which I exchanged for a black mockturtleneck, cold water washable. He didn't know. I would have ended up with an XS white one eventually.

Anyway, on my way to the Dress Barn store to exchange the sweaters, I got accosted by a cute foreign girl named Noa (what kind of a name is that for a girl?) demonstrating handlotion, as a come-on to hard-selling me a nail care kit. "regular price is $39.99, sale price is $29.99", at which point I was ready to walk, but then she came down to $20 for the whole thing, so I caved. This is what I got. So, I paid $20. Then, just now, I went looking for the link to show you what I got, and found them on ebay for $7.50. So what did I do? Yes. I bought 3 more sets. Because I used it tonight during Jeopardy, and damn if my nails aren't extra shiny. Yes, they are. So I thought this might be a really nice girly-xmas gift. Started out thinking I'd buy one, for NS, and then thought, well, there may be other girls who need a gift, and wouldn't I be smart if I had 2 spares on hand? Yes, I would. And so I did. The fragrance that I bought yesterday is the Unity fragrance (whatever). The ones I bought tonight are all 3 Citrus fragrance.

Anyway, that was my birthday. It was good.

Tonight, I took a survey, and had to put in 41 for my age. First time. Won't be the last, of course.

Also, yesterday D decided, with my agreement, that when NS goes back home after Xmas, he will accompany her and stay for 2 weeks. That will be during the crunch time of the SAP rollout, so I imagine that I will need plenty of "relaxing" after work. If you know what I mean. And now that I have my very own copy of The Wizard of Oz, I can watch that as many times as I want. In whatever state I want.

So, more suggestions for movies during the vacation will be accepted beginning immediately. These are the ones that I saw last time:

10/17 Young Frankenstein
10/21 Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory
10/23 Office Space
10/23 meet the parents
10/24 The Day After Tomorrow
10/30 Fahrenheit 9/11
10/30 Dazed & Confused
10/31 Wizard of Oz

and these are the ones that are still in the queue:

Blazing Saddles
Parenthood
Blues brothers
Beetlejuice
Sleeper
The great outdoors
Space Balls
9 lives of fritz the cat
Howard the Duck

Apropos of nothing, a ladybug just fell out of the heating duct above my desk, and startled me. Now it's flying around by the ceiling fan. I hear it ticking (not bonking, Miss Hiss!) against the blades.

And also, remember Murph? When she was this tiny kitten just born?

Now, this is where she's hanging out:

And this is her mom, trying desperately NOT to spill her wine:

Gotta love it. :)

7:51 p.m. - 2004-11-09

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

memmunch
kungfukitten
stepfordtart
mare-ingenii
la-the-sage
kristintracy
erianne1
marn