thatgrrrl's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

new favorite, great music, good books and more

Go see what's up at the diarist.net awards, if only to read some of the finalists. I promise, you will discover some amazing writers.

I spent a good 3 hours today at Awakened: Treading the Dawn reading about an amazing life, wolves, flowers and birds, and about love. Melissa and Morgan, who live in the mountains of North Carolina.

However, I did actually DO something today, and yesterday, before I was ensnared by the wolves and the pictures and the flowers.

Last night, C and I went to see Melissa Etheridge in concert, after a nice dinner at a restaurant called The Twisted Fork (which, whenever I type it, either comes out Dork or Ford). The concert was really good, and so was dinner before. I'd heard about the restaurant from a girl at work yesterday at lunch, and there are leftovers in the refrigerator, half of which I had for dinner tonight, the other half will be lunch tomorrow. We didn't get done with dinner till almost 8, so we didn't get to Alltel till after the concert had started, but we had excellent seats, and didn't have to wait in any lines at all, and there was no traffic at all, because everyone was already there. We ended up getting to our seats at about quarter till 9, but she played and sang till almost 11. C got pretty drunk, we each had a beer at the restaurant, but at the concert, she had 3 23 oz beers, and I had one 12 oz fuzzy navel cooler, so she was pretty lit. Needless to say, I was driving, but we took her car, because it was required by Lesbian Law, to drive a Miata to a Melissa concert if there's one available.

The highlights of her concert experience, other than Melissa, was that she got carded when she was buying her 3rd beer (she's 39), and that she got to touch the bass player. He was wireless, and roaming in the audience, and our seats were right on the aisle where he hung out for a few minutes. She was totally jazzed about touching someone who's actually probably touched Melissa. 2 degrees of separation and all that. I got a tshirt and a hat, which I wore a lot today (the hat, not the shirt). She got 2 tshirts, and a couple of keychains for some friends at home.

And I saw a kitty outside this morning, I was in the downstairs bathroom, and looked out the window and there was a gray tabby out there, sniffing around the steps where there was a little water puddled. Little, maybe 8 or 9 months and/or pounds, but really big eyes and ears. I opened the window and talked to it thru the screen, and it went under the car, but wasn't running away, just listening to me. Then MCat came into the bathroom and got up in the window and I showed her, and then the kitty went down the driveway, so MCat went into the computer room under the curtain and we both looked out at the kitty till it went across the street and into the neighbor's yard and we lost sight of it. I asked her if she knew that kitty, but she wasn't saying. She didn't growl or anything, just very curious and watching. Tail twitching.

After C got up about 9, and ate breakfast, we went shopping online. I'd signed up at freeslide.com to get a free digital camera like the one she got. It's a really nice camera, and it's a lot better than the one I have now. Lighter, smaller, faster. Anyway, the way you get a free camera is by signing up there and fulfilling one of their offers. There are several to choose from, and I chose to join The Literary Guild, because 6 books for $15 and a free digital camera is a deal that I (being a book-addict) just can't pass up.

Another one of the offers was for BMG CD Club, and we had been talking about what Melissa albums we did or didn't have. We found her discography, and made a list of what we wanted, then I joined BMG and we ordered 7 albums (5 Melissa and one double CD set of the first Lilith Fair) for something like $12 shipping, the CDs themselves were free. Membership requires purchase of only ONE CD at regular club prices in the first year, and after that one is purchased, get 4 more free. What's not to like about THAT deal?

So, books are coming, and music is coming. Life is good.

After the shopping spree, we went to the mall to get my watchband lengthened, and then to FYE because she wanted a CD organizer for her car. She's going to need it after all these CDs get here, that's for sure. She already did anyway. And we had lunch at the mall. After all that, she went home (I'm assuming she actually got there, but haven't heard from her, she probably got sucked into the computer, as usual) and I took a nap. After the nap, I went out to the front yard and gathered up the big branches that had fallen since the last time the people mowed, and pulled a couple branches down that were hanging by a wooden thread, and broke them all up and put them into the yard waste bucket which I'll put out for pickup next Friday. I'd been wanting to pick those up for a while, and it was nice out. About 85 and sunny, but I was under the trees most of the time, so I didn't worry about getting overheated. Also, I was mostly just standing and breaking up sticks, so I was fine. And I had my Lucky hat on. (the one I got at the concert).

Monday, I plan on starting to walk on the treadmill after Jeopardy every night. Walk to the point of sweating. Because C, who is 6 inches taller than me, is losing weight and now weighs only 5 pounds more than I do. Because my neuro said I need to lose weight. Because I know I need to get off my ass and do some MOVING to do it. I"m going to enlist D's help. I'm going to ask him to be my personal trainer. And I'm not going to whine about it when he tells me to get moving. Once I get started, it's not hard to continue. It's the getting started part that's hard.

Maybe D will let me borrow his player to listen to something while I walk. I'll talk to him about it tomorrow. He's coming home from NS's tomorrow afternoon sometime. His scheduled flight arrives at 3:40, but he's going to try to get a shorter, more direct, flight instead, so that might change. I'll probably go in to work for a couple hours, just because I don't really have anything else to do and it's on the way to the airport. Oh sure, I suppose I could vacuum the house, or something domestic like that, but does that sound like me? No, I didn't think so either.

8:05 p.m. - 2004-06-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

memmunch
kungfukitten
stepfordtart
mare-ingenii
la-the-sage
kristintracy
erianne1
marn