thatgrrrl's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

it's almost vacation time

I don't have pictures of my hair yet, sorry Dharma. Will try to get that tonight or tomorrow. I tried last night, but the flash kept making it look funny in the mirror. I'll have D take a picture. Which hopefully will turn out better than normal. I don't take pictures very well unless they're candids, or I'm already laughing. My face doesn't know how to smile on command. Without looking dorky or lopsided, I mean.

weetabix asked me if I'd made a decision about JournalCon, and, as much as it pains me to say it, I haven't decided on J'con, but I did do some research, and thought about it some. I'm leaning toward not, unless I drive, and by August, I'm going to be wiped out from work (with no end in sight) so probably won't want to drive that far for ANY reason. I had SUCH a good time last year, and it would be so cool to hang out with all the Diaryland cool kids again, but I just don't know if I'll have the energy in August.

However, I did order samples of The Soap. One for me, one for NS and one for C. Unless me and NS like it so much, we'll split the third and just not tell C about it. ;) It SHOULD be coming today or tomorrow, it shipped on Monday priority mail. It BETTER come before Friday morning because we're leaving for vacation and I wanted to take it up to Ohio with us, so I could give NS hers.

So, work today. Vacation begins tomorrow, D and I are flying to Ohio Friday morning, I'm staying till Monday, and he's staying till the following weekend, Saturday I think. Gonna meet the kids, and see NS again, meet some of her friends, and play. Rock N Roll Museum, perhaps a space center visit, maybe the zoo, maybe a ball game, who knows. BBQ festival/cookoff I think. Museum of Life and Science. I need to get a hat, or bring the one that I have already, and remember to bring sunscreen (lots of it).

Yesterday, at work, I get a pleaful call from Mike, one of my sales database users. (this is the sales database which I am not supporting right now because of this huge and way more important project for finance/BossLady). He got a new computer (several of them did) and got a new database on it, and now the sales database program doesn't work. He said, who do I appeal to for your support? I said, the Swiss Prez guy. He laughed and laughed. I said, I'm serious!! So he called BossLady, and left a groveling voicemail, which she told me about, and she told me that it was up to me, but that I knew what HER priority is, and she didn't want me to be exhausted. She even offered to reward me somehow if I did it, but was leaving it up to me.

I thought about it on the way home, and I've decided that I just CAN'T do it. I can't do more than what I'm doing right now. This might be a very good (albeit painful) lesson for the sales VP that they MUST HAVE at least a half time support person for their sales database. Because when (not if) I tell them no, they're going to be left in the proverbial shit creek, without even a canoe, much less a paddle. And it's not going to get any better, because once this current project is done (assuming it is EVER done), then the SAP thing starts up, and that goes right on till February or so, and there's no way they're going to survive with the current level of support that they're getting from DA and his Minion. No Freakin' Way. Because DA and M know very very very (did I say very?) little about databases.

When I talked to C about this last night at bedtime, she said, you should ask for a raise! If you're the only one that can do this stuff, you're in a pretty good position. But my thought about that was, they're not going to get any more from me by giving me a raise, there's not a whole lot more to give. Also, what's in it for them? Why should they give me a raise if they're already getting the maximum output from me? She said, maybe if they give you a raise, you won't consider leaving (or at least letting them think you're considering leaving). But we all know that's not my style, and I think my boss knows that too.

Anyway..... that's about it for this morning. Perhaps more tonight, when I'm on VACATION!!! :)

6:33 a.m. - 2004-05-26

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

memmunch
kungfukitten
stepfordtart
mare-ingenii
la-the-sage
kristintracy
erianne1
marn